CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE

FRIDAY, 29 JULY 2022

PRESENT: Councillor G. Davies (Virtually)

Also Present (Virtually):

T. Neumayer-James, Principal School Governance Officer

J. Owens, Democratic Services Officer

Multi-Location Meeting- 9.30 - 9.51 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

2. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 14TH MARCH 2022

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 14 March 2022 be signed as a correct record.

3. APPOINTMENT OF LA MEMBER TO THE PUPIL REFERRAL UNIT (PRU) MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

The Cabinet Member considered the expressions of interest received for the appointment of a Local Authority Member to serve on the Pupil Referral Unit (PRU) Management Committee.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations of filling vacancies on the Pupil Referral Unit Management Committee, and having considered the applications received Cllr Shelly Godfrey-Coles be appointed to serve on the Pupil Referral Unit (PRU) Management Committee.

4. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was also noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

The Principal School Governance Officer reported that, following the recent County Council elections, all newly elected County Councillors had been invited to nominate the Governing Bodies on which they wished to represent the Local Authority. It is county policy that all County Councillors, when elected, may



stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors may nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that does not currently have a vacant post. In the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council may stipulate which LA Governor must then stand down.

The Principal School Governance Officer clarified to the Cabinet Member that since the publication of the meeting documentation, one additional vacancy had arisen for Penrhos primary school.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors from 01 September 2022 onwards unless otherwise stipulated:-

Primary School	Appointments
Beca (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Dorian Phillips
Bigyn (1 x vacancy - 2 nominations)	Cllr. Terry Davies Cllr. Suzy Curry to replace J. Edmunds
Cefneithin (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Miss S. Griffiths
Ferryside (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Lewis Davies
Ffwrnes (0 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr Martyn Palfreman to replace S. Phillips
Laugharne (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Rev C. Butler
Llandybie (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Mr S. Isaac
Llangadog (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Andrew Davies
Llanllwni (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr A. Evans



Mrs B. Bowen
Cllr. Denise Owen to replace Mr K. Patel
Ms M. James
Cllr. Sean Rees
Cllr. Lewis Davies
Cllr. Peter Cooper
Cllr Michael Thomas to replace J. Jones
Cllr. Sean Lucas Rees
Cllr. Terry Davies
Mrs E. Cullen
Cllr. Peter Cooper
Mr M. Christopher
Ms M. Arthur
Cllr. Emyr Rees
Cllr. Nysia Evans
Mrs M. Billington (appointment from 29.01.23)



Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Dinefwr (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Mr G. Kilby
Bro Myrddin (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Meinir James
Bryngwyn – Glan-y-Môr (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Michael Thomas
Dyffryn Aman	Cllr. Karen Davies
(1 x vacancy from 29.11.22 - 1 nomination)	(appointment from 29.11.22)
Maes Y Gwendraeth (3 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Cllr. Hefin Jones

Special School	Appointment
Heol Goffa (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr P. Newell

CHAIR	DATE

